Back to All Events

ROCKSTAR EXPLOSION: Benefitting Lone Star Explosion 2014


Join us for a night of local music and festivities benefiting Lone Star Explosion 2014! Tickets: $5-$7

The music acts selected represent some of the newest electronic and indie rock sound coming out of Houston. These bands are frequent supporters of our local art scene, often performing at gallery openings and live art events, strengthening bonds and mutual support between performance artists and musicians in Houston. We are very thankful and excited for this amazing night.


Houston Texas bass music

2012 Houston Press Music Awards Winner: Best Electronic Act

A duo noise punk band from Houston, TX whose only mission is to make you wet.

A musical Movement created by the Universe through its Ghost Host known as Fernando "Don" Alejandro. This Cosmic Comic Movement is responsible for bringing about a Positive Vibration through a multi-genre sound.


Local artists Evan McCarley and Scott Gregory bring the anarcho-pop punk feels.

Lone Star Explosion 2014 is Houston’s second international performance art biennale. It is taking place on February 19 – 23, 2014 in three of Houston’s venerated performance art venues: Box 13, The Art League and Notsuoh as well as online and in public space.

Lone Star Explosion 2014 seeks to showcase performance art that pushes the artist and audience in new ways. We shine a spotlight on performance art that questions fundamental assumptions about the way we experience time, space, relationships, the self, society, and sexuality. Visiting artists from around the world have been hand-picked for their insight and expansion on themes and practices currently explored by Houston performance artists. The unique, rebellious beauty of Houston’s own performance art will join with the brilliant expression of our visiting artists, creating an exchange of epic proportion. We intend for every participant to leave the festival full of new inspiration and greater possibility.

Julia Wallace and Jonotan Lopez

Education Opportunity Coordinator:
Ryan Hawk

Artist Board:
Kelly Alison, Emily Sloan, Ryan Hawk, David L Davis, Koomah, Y. E. Torres, Jonathan Jindra, Hilary Scullane, David McClain, Daniel Bertalot, Evan McCarley and Unna Bettie.

For more information, visit

Earlier Event: November 17
Bill's Train to Infiniy Sunday
Later Event: November 19
Notsuoh Open Mic Poetry Night